## RESOLUTION

Whereas, Clay County has had a long and storied history since its inception in 1858; and

*Whereas*, before 1859 Clay County has been occupied by indigenous people, the Spanish, the British, and the citizens of the American colonies, has been the scene of wars ranging from the Seminole Wars to the Civil War, was the scene of a thriving early American economy, and is the home to diverse communities giving Clay County a unique historical and cultural perspective; and

Whereas, Clay County has many historical sites which serve as physical reminders of our history; and

*Whereas*, Clay County has a wealth of organizations, museums, volunteers and citizens focused on Clay County history who are ready and willing to make Clay County history known and appreciated; and

*Whereas*, a Clay County history month would be an opportunity for all citizens in both the private and public sector to bring attention and visitors to the county, and encourage its citizenry to gain a better understanding and appreciation of Clay County's history; and

*Whereas,* the following citizens are presenting this resolution to the School Board of Clay County Florida: Cindy Stewart of the Shepard's Center (Orange Park and Fleming Island), Art Yeaman of Heritage Guides.org and the Greater Green Cove Civic Association, Maude Jackson of Hilltop Heritage Development, Marilyn Haddock of the Clay County Preservation Board and Clay County Historical Society, Terry and Frank Haggard of the Clay County Historical Society, Faye Irvin, member of the Historical Society of Orange Park and the Clay County Archives.

*Now Therefore Be It Resolved* that the School Board of Clay County, Florida does hereby proclaim the month of **March** starting 2014 and carried forward each year hereafter to be designated as:

## **CLAY COUNTY HISTORY MONTH**

Duly Adopted by the School Board of Clay County, Florida this 20th day of February, 2014.

**ATTEST:** 

Superintendent of Clay County Schools

Charlie E. Van Zant, Jr.



Clay County School Board Members

Janice Kerekes, District 1, Vice Chairman

Carol Studdard, District 2, Chairman

Tina Bullock, District 3

Johanna McKinnon, District 4

Lisa Graham, District 5